Photo by Heartreflections

One of the greatest prayers in the Bible is Psalm 71. It is a prayer for God’s protection in times of trouble and terror. The excerpt below is from The Promise TM (Thomas Nelson Publishers), using the Contempory English Version.

I run to you, Lord, for protection.
Don’t disappoint me.
You do what is right, so come to my rescue.
Listen to my prayer and keep me safe.
Be my mighty rock,
The place where I can always run for protection…
You brought me safely through birth,
And I always praise you…
Come closer, God! Please hurry and help.
Embarrass and destroy all who want me dead;
Disgrace and confuse all who want to hurt me.
I will never give up hope or stop praising you.
All day long I will tell the wonderful things you do
to save your people…
You made me suffer a lot,
But you will bring me back from this deep pit
And give me new life.
You will make me truly great and take my sorrow away.
I will praise you, God, the Holy One of Israel.
You are faithful.

Rating: 10/10

Freeman, W.B. The Original Inspiration Bathroom Book. New York: GRQ, INC, 2006

We all need to spend time praying. Connecting with Jesus Christ and our heavenly father is where most of us fall short. Just like a father wants to have his son talk with him, so does God. He might already know how our day went but just giving our time to be with him shows the love that we have for him. When things are tough, he will be the one that is always there. Lets not just rely on him for the tough times, keep Jesus Christ and the father involved in the good times as well.